Film awards

All the Winners of the 68th Indian National Film Awards: ‘Soorarai Pottru’ Takes the Grand Prize

Indian screen stars dazzled at the 68th National Film Awards – as Tamil title Soorarai Pottru (Hail to the brave) was crowned best film.

The film is inspired by the story of GR Gopinath, the man who founded Simplifly Deccan, India’s first low-cost airline.

Released on Amazon Prime Video in November 2020, the film stars Suriya, Aparna Balamurali and Paresh Rawal.

Suriya won Best Actor at the annual awards show, sharing it with Bollywood star Ajay Devgn for his role in a period drama. Tanhaji: The Unsung Warrior.

Aparna Balamurali picked Best Actress for her role in the same movie. Soorarai Pottru also won Best Background Music and Best Screenplay.

It was a big night for South Indian cinema with Madonna Ashwin winning the Indira Gandhi Award for Best Debut Film by a Director for her political satire Mandela, which is streaming on Netflix. And Sivaranjiniyum Innum Sila Pengalum won three accolades, including Best Feature Film in Tamil.

Kerala tribal woman Nanchamma was also on the honor list. The 62-year-old folksinger won the national award for India’s best female singer for her work on Ayyappanum Koshiyum.

Established in 1954, the prestigious film awards are administered by the Film Festivals Authority of the Government of India. This year’s event rewarded films released in 2020, in several categories.

Legendary filmmaker Vipul Shah headed the feature category jury while non-feature films were overseen by Chitrartha Singh. Journalist Anant Vijay chaired the Best Film Writing category.

The Minister of Information and Broadcasting, Anurag Thakur, thanked all the members of the jury and those working in the Indian film industry.

“I would like to congratulate all the members of the jury and all the people whose work was evaluated and I would like to congratulate the winners who will receive the National Film Awards,” said Thakur.

Full list of winners of the 68th Indian National Film Awards:

Best feature film: Soorarai Pottru

Best Director: Sachy for Ayyappanum Koshiyum

Best Popular Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment: Tanhaji

Best actor: Surya for Soorarai Pottru and Ajay Devgn for Tanhaji

Best Actress: Aparna Balamurali for Soorarai Pottru

Best Supporting Actor: Biju Menon for Ayyappanum Koshiyam

Best Supporting Actress: Lakshmi Priyaa Chandramouli for Sivaranjaniyum Innum Sila Pengallum

Best Screenplay: Soorarai Pottru

Best Screenplay (Dialogue): Madonna Ashwin for mandela

Best Musical Direction (Songs): Thaman S for Ala Vaikunthapurramuloo

Best Musical Direction (Background Music): GV Prakash for Soorarai Pottru

Best Male Playback Singer: Rahul Deshpande for Me Vasantrao

Best Female Playback Singer: Nanchamma for Ayyappanum Koshiyam

Best lyrics: Manoj Muntashir for Saina

Best audiography (outdoor sound recording): Jobin Jayan for Dollu

Best Audiography (Sound Designer): Anmol Bhave for Me Vasantrao

Best Audiography (re-recording of the final mixed track): Vishnu Govind and Sree Sankar for Malik

Best choreography: Sandhya Raju for Natyam

Best Cinematography: Supratim Bhol for Avijatrik

Best Costume Design: Nachiket Barve and Mahesh Sherla for Tanhaji

Best Production Design: Anees Nadodi for Kapella

Best editing: Sreekar Prasad for Sivaranjiniyum Innum Sila Pengalum

Best Makeup: TV Rambabu for Natyam

Best stunt choreography: Rajasekhar, Mafia Sasi and Supreme Sunder for Ayyappanum Koshiyum

Best films in each language:

Best Hindi Film: Junior Tools

Best Kannada film: Dollu

Best Malayalam Film: Thinkalazhcha Nishchayam

Best Tamil Film: Sivaranjiniyum Innum Sila Pengalum

Best Telugu Film: Color pictures

Best Haryanvi Movie: Dada Lakhmi

Best Dimasa Film: Semkhor

Best Tulu Film: Jeetige

Best Marathi Film: Goshta Eka Paithanichi

Best Bengali Film: Avijatrik

Best Assamese Film: The bridge

Updated: July 23, 2022, 12:58 p.m.