Film ratings

Alliance of Women Film Journalists Award: “Power of the Dog” Sweeps

The Alliance of Women Film Journalists has announced the winners of the 2021 AWFJ EDA for its 15th season. This year’s most nominated film, ‘The Power of the Dog’, took home the awards with wins in 11 of 25 categories, including Best Picture, Best Director for Jane Campion, Supporting Actress for Kirsten Dunst and the adapted scenario.

“Although our beloved film industry has been plagued by the pandemic, 2021 has proven to be a rather magnificent year for films – especially for films made by and about women,” said the president of the ‘AWFJ, Jennifer Merin. “We at the Alliance of Women Film Journalists are delighted to see that last year‘s crop of brilliant women’s and women-centered films are getting the recognition they deserve – as our list of award winners shows. EDA, and in the films and talents on our nominees list, as well as in awards presented by other film review groups.

Other winners included ties for the documentary (“Flee” and “Summer of Soul”) and the animated film (“Encanto” and “The Mitchells vs. the Machines”). Olivia Colman (“The Lost Daughter”) won Best Actress, the only acting award that didn’t go to “Power of the Dog.”

See the full list of winners below.

AWFJ Best of Price

(These prizes are awarded to women and/or men regardless of gender.)

Best film

  • Belfast
  • “Licorice Pizza”
  • “The Lost Girl”
  • “Who passed”
  • “The Power of the Dog” (WINNER)

Best Director

  • Paul Thomas Anderson, “Licorice Pizza”
  • Kenneth Branagh, “Belfast”
  • Jane Campion, “The Power of the Dog” (WINNER)
  • Maggie Gyllenhaal, “The Lost Girl”
  • Rebecca Hall, “Skip”

Best Actress

  • Jessica Chastain, “The Eyes of Tammy Faye”
  • Olivia Colman, “The Lost Girl” (WINNER)
  • Lady Gaga, “House of Gucci”
  • Kristen Stewart, “Spencer”
  • Tessa Thompson, “Skip”

Best Supporting Actress

  • Jessie Buckley, “The Lost Girl”
  • Ann Dowd, “Mass”
  • Kirsten Dunst, “The Power of the Dog” (WINNER)
  • Aunjanue Ellis, “King Richard”
  • Ruth Negga, “Passing by”

Best actor

  • Benedict Cumberbatch, “The Power of the Dog” (WINNER)
  • Peter Dinklage, “Cyrano”
  • Andrew Garfield, “Tick, tick… Boom!
  • Will Smith, “King Richard”
  • Denzel Washington, “The Tragedy of Macbeth”

Best Supporting Actor

  • Jamie Dornan, “Belfast”
  • Troy Kostur, “CODA”
  • Ciaran Hinds, “Belfast”
  • Jesse Plemons, “The Power of the Dog”
  • Kodi Smit-McPhee, “The Power of the Dog” (WINNER)

Best Screenplay, Original

  • “Being the Ricardos” – Aaron Sorkin
  • “Belfast” – Kenneth Branagh (WINNER)
  • “Don’t Look Up” – Adam Mckay
  • “Licorice Pizza” – Paul Thomas Anderson
  • “Mass” – Fran Kranz

Best Screenplay, Adapted

  • “CODA” – Sian Heder
  • “Dune” – Jon Spaihts, Denis Villeneuve, Eric Roth
  • “The Lost Girl” – Maggie Gyllenhaal
  • “Pass” – Rebecca Hall
  • “The Power of the Dog” – Jane Campion (WINNER)

Best Documentary

  • “Ascent”
  • “Run Away” (WINNER)
  • “Julia”
  • “Summer of Soul” (WINNER)
  • “Val”

Best Animated Film

“Encanto” (WINNER)
“To flee”
“The Mitchells vs. the Machines” (WINNER)
“Raya and the Last Dragon”

Best Ensemble Cast – Casting Director

“Belfast” – Lucy Bevan, Emily Brockmann
“The French Dispatch” – Douglas Aibel, Antoinette Boulat
“The More They Fall” – Victoria Thomas
“King Richard” – Rich Delia, Avy Kaufman
“The Power of the Dog” – Nikki Barrett, Tina Cleary, Carmen Cuba, Nina Gold (WINNER)

Best Cinematography

“Belfast” – Haris Zambarloukos
“Dune” – Greig Fraser
“Pass” – Eduard Grau
“The Power of the Dog” – Ari Wegner (WINNER)
“The Tragedy of Macbeth” – Bruno Delbonnel

Best Editing

“Belfast” – Una Ni Dhonghalle
“Don’t Look Up” – Hank Corwin
“Dune” – Joe Walker
“The Power of the Dog” – Peter Sciberras (WINNER)
“West Side Story” – Sarah Broshar, Michael Kahn

Best Non-English Language Film

“Drive My Car” (WINNER)
“To flee”
“A hero”
“I am your man”

EDA Female Focus Award

(These awards only honor women.)

Best Director

Jane Campion, “The Power of the Dog” (WINNER)
Julia Ducournau, “Titanium”
Maggie Gyllenhaal, “The Lost Girl”
Rebecca Hall, “Skip”
Sian Heder, “CODA”

Best Female Screenwriter

Jane Campion, “The Power of the Dog” (WINNER)
Maggie Gyllenhaal, “The Lost Girl”
Rebecca Hall, “Skip”
Sian Heder, “CODA”
Maria Schrader, “I Am Your Man”

Best Animated Female

Mirabel, Stephanie Beatriz, “Encanto” (WINNER)
Katie, Abbi Jacobsen, “The Mitchells vs. the Machines”
Raya, Kelly Marie Tran, “Raya and the Last Dragon”
Giulia, Emma Berman, “Luca”
Sisu, Awkwafina, “Raya and the Last Dragon”

Best Woman Breakthrough Performance

Ariana DeBose, “West Side Story”
Alana Haim, “Licorice Pizza”
Emilia Jones, “CODA” (WINNER)
Renate Reinsve, “The worst person in the world”
Rachel Zegler, “West Side Story”

Outstanding Achievement by a Woman in the Motion Picture Industry

Victoria Alonzo, for her achievements at Marvel Studios
Maya Cade, for creating The Black Film Archive (WINNER)
Anna Serner, for 20 years of women’s work at the Swedish Film Institute

EDA Special Mention

Grand Dame Award for Challenging Ageism

Dame Judi Dench (WINNER)
Ms. Rita Moreno (WINNER)
Lady Diana Rigg

Most Blatant Lovers Age Difference Award

“The Many Saints of Newark” – Ray Liotta and Michela Derossi (38)
“Red Rocket” – Simon Rex and Suzanna Son (21)
“The Hitman’s Wife’s Bodyguard” – Salma Hayek and Samuel L. Jackson (21)
“Nightmare Alley” – David Strathairn and Toni Collette (22)
“Licorice Pizza” Alana Haim and Cooper Hoffman (age 10)
“No Time to Die” – Daniel Craig and Lea Seydoux (17) (WINNER)

She deserves a new agent award

Amy Adams, “The Woman in the Window” and “Dear Evan Hansen”
Melissa McCarthy, “The Starling” (WINNER)
Chloe Grace Moretz, “Tom and Jerry”

Most Audacious Performance Award

Sandra Bullock, “The Unforgivable”
Olivia Colman, “The Lost Girl”
Ruth Negga, “Passing by”
Renate Reinsve, “The worst person in the world”
Agathe Rouselle, “Titanium” (WINNER)

Time Waster Remake or Sequel Price

“The Boss Baby: The Family Business”
“Ghostbusters: Afterlife”
“Space Jam: A New Legacy” (WINNER)
“Tom and Jerry”

AWFJ Hall of Shame Award

Gina Carano, Nicki Minaj and Letitia Wright for using celebrity status for anti-vax propaganda
The producers, crew and cast of ‘Rust’ for not following proper safety protocol and causing the tragic death of cinematographer Halyna Hutchins (WINNER)
Warner Bros. for contributing to the resurgence of Mel Gibson by hiring him to direct “Lethal Weapon 5”