Film awards

The Boat by Winston Azzopardi crowned best film at the Malta Film Awards

– The first edition of the event, hosted by the famous British comedian and writer David Walliams, celebrated 100 years of the country’s film industry

Davide Ferrario wins his best director award for blood on the crown

It’s the end of the inaugural edition of the Malta Film Awards. The event, organized on January 29 and hosted by the British comedian-actor-writer David Walliams, was organized by the Malta Film Commission as part of the brand new Malta Film Week, an industry event (24-29 January).

The gala took place at the Mediterranean Conference Center and was broadcast live by local broadcaster TVM. Envisioned as a celebration of 100 years of the archipelago’s film industry, the prestigious gathering saw the triumph of Winston Azzopardiit is The boat [+see also:
film profile
, crowned best film. The feature film, starring Joe Azzopardi, follows a lone fisherman encountering a seemingly abandoned yacht in a strange fog bank and thus facing “the most inexplicable and terrifying nightmare”. For his work on The boat, Polish DoP Marek Traskowski won the award for best cinematography.

(The article continues below – Commercial information)

The other big winner of this year‘s edition is David Ferrarioit is blood on the crown, a Maltese-Canadian-American co-production starring Harvey Keitel and Malcolm McDowell, with veteran British filmmaker Roland Joffe serving as executive producer. The period drama is based on the events of 1919’s “Sette Giugno”, when, following a series of riots by the local population, British troops fired into the crowd, killing four people. The tragedy led to increased resistance to the colonial government and support for pro-Italian irredentists who had challenged the British presence on the island. The film took home six awards in total – Best Score, Best Hair & Makeup, Best Screenplay, Best Lead Actor (given to the legendary Harvey Keitel), Best Director and Best Post-Production.

Here is the full list of winners:

Best film
The boat [+see also:
film profile
– Winston Azzopardi (Malta)

Best Classic Film
Scrooge – Tony Parnis (Malta)

Best score
Alexey Shor and Laurent Eyquem – blood on the crown (Malta/Canada/USA)

Best hair ae makeup design
Christian Kotey and Jannie Stax – blood on the crown

Best Location Award
Fort Ricasoli

Best Production Design
Mela Melak – blood on the crown

Best Short Film
The Maltese Fighter – Arev Manoukian (Malta)

Best Documentary
Pass Għal Auschwitz Pass – Jonathan Farrugia (Malta)

Best Screenplay
Jean-Pierre Magro – blood on the crown

Best TV Series
L-Għarusa (Malta)

Best Classic TV Series
Għeruq (Malta)

Best Supporting Actor
Narcy Calamatta – Ħabbilni Ħa Nirbaħ (Malta)

Best Supporting Actress
Sarah Camilleri – L-Ispettur (Malta)

Best Actor in a Leading Role
Harvey Keitel– blood on the crown

Best Actress in a Leading Role
Louise Doneo – Qala Weeping House (Malta)

Best Director
David Ferrario- blood on the crown

Best post-production
Pedja Miletic, Claudio Cormio, Vito Martinelli, Aaron Briffa and Nikita Argunov – blood on the crown

Best Costume Design
Angelle Farrugia and Audrey Brincat Dalli – L-Għarusa (Malta) and Strada Stretta (Malta)

Best Cinematography
Marek Traskowski– The boat

Crew Recognition Award
Ino Bonello

Malta Film Ambassador Award
Ridley Scott

Malta Film Industry Honor Award
Russell Crowe

Life Achievement Award
Mario Philippe Azzopardi

Maltese Film Commissioner Award
Colin Trevorrow

(The article continues below – Commercial information)